A Story to Warm Even the Coldest of Hearts

Just yesterday I published my DeathSpank: Thongs of Virtue review and, tragically, had to shed light on the game-breaking bug that wreaks havoc during its closing moments. Well, after a little electronic back and forth with the charming fellows over at Hothead and much in the way of apologising on their behalf, they only went and sent me a free copy of Penny Arcade: Episode One as way of apology.

I can’t say I know too much about the game or the web-comic but that’s not really the point here. It’s the fact that Hothead took the time to get in touch with me through personal and sincerely apologetic emails that truly warms the heart. How many developers would bother going to the effort and then throw in free content on top? Sure you could argue that I purchased a faulty product and it’s my consumer right to be compensated (perhaps with the offer of future work and real life DeathSpank costumes?), but I had 10 hours of great DeathSpank adventuring in the bag before it broke and should I play it through again, the chances are it probably won’t explode.

So let it be known that any journalistic integrity I formerly had has been washed away, replaced by a fevered love for Hothead and their future work.

Swarm looked pretty tasty before all this, mind.

Leave a Reply

